Why You Should Be A Great Storyteller

“Storytelling at Fire”, Painting by David Sheldon

I still remember the first time I had the opportunity to be a part of a first rate sales team. I had no formal sales experience and was amazed at the level of polish and professionalism that the team demonstrated. To a person, they were well dressed, well groomed, and well spoken. They knew their industry backwards and forwards, inside and out. And as good as they were, the sales managers were even better! These managers were the elite: charismatic, seasoned, and above all inspirational. As a leader in my group, I wanted to inspire my team as these executives inspired me. So I tried. And I tried. But I couldn’t figure out what they were doing that was so different! Then, after months of observation, it finally hit me: they told stories.

In fact, almost all they did was tell stories. Stories about recent successes, stories about lessons learned, customer stories, funny stories, touching stories. They told lots of stories…and most of them were told with a purpose. So I began to use storytelling with my team.  I learned, practiced, and prepared (The Springboard and The Leader’s Guide to Storytelling, both by Denning, and The Story Factor by Simmons are three solid books on storytelling for business). I built my stories. And as I told them, I noticed a level of attention, engagement, and understanding from my team that I had seldom achieved before.

Now take a few minutes, and think back on all the people you have worked with. Remember how your most inspiring colleagues communicated? I bet they told a story or two. Now, imagine how skilled storytelling could help you communicate, persuade, and inspire.

May you Dream Bigger, Reach Higher, and Achieve More!

-Business Coach Alay

Leave a comment